Monthly Archives: September 2015

PFRA Helping Out at the Plano Balloon Festival

PFRA was at the 2015 Plano Balloon Festival, discussing fire and life safety information with the kids and handing out lots of freebies.  We also sold pink T-shirts for the Plano Firefighters Association and our own PFR T-shirts that will help benefit the PFD Scholarship Fund.  Pictured here are PFRA members Denise Yealy and Allison Johnston talking to these young firefighters-to-be about the importance of getting a good education!

Say Hello to the New Truck 4

Plano Fire-Rescue recently took delivery of their new Rosenbauer 101’ rear mount Smart Aerial ladder truck. Features: FX 3/16” aluminum tandem axle aerial body, high side compartments with painted Robinson Roll-up doors, enclosed pump panels, 300/20 poly tank, Waterous 1250 GPM single stage pump, stainless steel plumbing, Foampro 2001 system, Green Star “IRT” generator system, Rosenbauer Commander 4000 series R608 custom cab/chassis, ITS Roll Tek, seating for six, Cummins ISX 15l 550 hp diesel engine, Allison 4000evs retarder transmission, 12v Weldon V-mux electrical system, Rosenbauer Cobra 101’ 3-section rear mount “smart aerial control” platform, and joystick controls (whew!)

t4a t4b t4c

Plano Fire-Rescue Names PFRA Member “Volunteer of the Year”

Congratulations to PFRA member John Mouser, who Plano Fire-Rescue has awarded as their “Volunteer of the Year” for 2014. This of course comes as no surprise to us at PFRA, as John is always donating countless hours of his time and talents every month to support the Department, PFR staff, and all 350+ firefighters in the City of Plano. PFRA would also like to congratulate the entire list of PFR personnel and firefighters who were honored with an outstanding award for service in 2014: (Full press release here)

John Mouser (PFRA) – Volunteer of the Year
Frank Snidow – Civilian of the Year
Rance Pringle – Rookie of the Year
Albert Valdez – Public Educator of the Year
Marco Banuelas – Fire Instructor of the Year
Eric Wahlberg – Fire Officer of the Year
Darren Hagan – EMT of the Year
Josh Clouse – Paramedic of the Year
Nick Kalina – Firefighter of the Year
Brian Stroven – Medal of Valor